What date and time will the new anime ‘Tokyo 24th Ward’ release, and which OTT streaming platforms will be broadcasting the series?
The Winter anime broadcasting slate has some serious ‘big-hitters’ with the likes of Demon Slayer, Attack on Titan, Orient and FreakAngels set to air.

However, the new broadcasting slate kicks off today, January 5th, with a science fiction series that everyone is looking forward to…Tokyo 24th Ward.

So, how can fans around the world stream Tokyo 24th Ward and what time will episode 1 release online?

What is Tokyo 24th Ward about?

Tokyo 24th Ward is an upcoming anime directed by Naokatsu Tsuda and written by Vio Shimokura.

Animating Tokyo 24th Ward is CloverWorks, who are known for producing the likes of Darling in the Franxx, Fairy Tail, The Promised Neverland and Horimiya.

The series is actually a rather unique production in the modern anime industry, being an original production with no light novel or manga series to adapt from.

Set on an artificial island in Tokyo Bay, the Far East Special District is known to locals as the 24th Ward.

Despite their different backgrounds, three childhood best friends called Ran, Koki and Shuta are doing their best to have fun on the island.

However, their lives and the lives of everyone on the 24th Ward are turned upside-down following a mysterious incident.

“At the first anniversary memorial of the incident, the three friends happen to meet again and their phones begin to ring simultaneously. The phone call is from a supposedly dead friend, urging them to “choose the future.” The three will try to protect their beloved 24th Ward and the future of its people in their own ways.” – Synopsis, via MyAnimeList.

  • DANMACHI: Anime will return for season 4 in 2022!

Tokyo 24th Ward | Official Trailer

Where to stream Tokyo 24th Ward…

Tokyo 24th Ward will be available to stream outside Japan through the Crunchyroll and Funimation OTT services, with both their Winter line-up’s featuring the new anime.

Fans should note that the series will be available to watch for free on both platforms, but will be made available one week early to premium subscribers.

Funimation offers a 14-day free trial, with their premium plan costing new users only £4.99 a month.

Crunchyroll also provides a 14-day free trial, with membership to the streaming service costing £7.99 per month – with an option to pay for 12 months reducing the monthly rate.

Tokyo 24th Ward: Release date and time

Tokyo 24th Ward episode 1 will release worldwide via the Funimation and Crunchyroll streaming platforms on Wednesday, January 5th at 4:30 PM GMT.

The release time has been confirmed by Funimation’s online schedule and is as followed for international audiences:

  • Pacific Time – 8:30 AM PST
  • Eastern Time – 11:30 AM EST
  • British Time – 4:30 PM GMT
  • European Time – 5:30 PM CET
  • India Time – 10 PM IST
  • Philippine Time – 12:30 AM PHT

This article will be updated if there is an alteration to the scheduled release of Tokyo 24th Ward episode 1.

How many episodes are in season 1?

At the time of writing, Tokyo 24th Ward season 1 is slated to consist of 13 individual episodes, as reported on the series’ Funimation page.

Assuming that there will not be any unscheduled breaks in the broadcast of the series, with new episodes airing every Wednesday, the finale will premiere on March 30th, 2022.

  • ANIME: 10 of the best shows to look out for this January!

By Tom Llewellyn – tom.llewellyn@grv.media

The post Tokyo 24th Ward: Release time, date and streaming confirmed for new anime appeared first on HITC.