THE 2022 schedule for the COLA payments from the Social Security Administration has been sent out. Seniors will be first in line if their birthday falls in a specific range of dates.
More than 64million people receiving Social Security are set to receive a bigger check this month, totaling approximately $1,657 for each recipient.

The 2022 schedule for COLA payments have been released by the Social Security Administration

That’s an increase from the average payout for retired workers in 2021, which was $1,565 per month.

People born on the first through the 10th of the month will get their first adjusted checks on January 12.

Those born in the middle of the month, from the 11th to the 20th, will get their payments on January 19.

And those born at the end of the month, from the 20th onward, can expect checks on January 26.

Throughout the year, checks will be sent on the second, third, and fourth Wednesdays for people whose birthdays fall at the beginning, middle, and end of the month respectively.

Here is the 2022 payment schedule shared by the Social Security Administration.


January 2022 Payments

  • Second Wednesday: Jan. 12
  • Third Wednesday: Jan. 19
  • Fourth Wednesday: Jan. 26

February 2022 Payments

  • Second Wednesday: Feb. 9
  • Third Wednesday: Feb. 16
  • Fourth Wednesday: Feb. 23

March 2022 Payments

  • Second Wednesday: March 9
  • Third Wednesday: March 16
  • Fourth Wednesday: March 23

April 2022 Payments

  • Second Wednesday: April 13
  • Third Wednesday: April 20
  • Fourth Wednesday: April 27

May 2022 Payments

  • Second Wednesday: May 11
  • Third Wednesday: May 18
  • Fourth Wednesday: May 25

June 2022 Payments

  • Second Wednesday: June 8
  • Third Wednesday: June 15
  • Fourth Wednesday: June 22

July 2022 Payments

  • Second Wednesday: July 13
  • Third Wednesday: July 20
  • Fourth Wednesday: July 27

August 2022 Payments

  • Second Wednesday: Aug. 10
  • Third Wednesday: Aug. 17
  • Fourth Wednesday: Aug. 24

September 2022 Payments

  • Second Wednesday: Sept. 14
  • Third Wednesday: Sept. 21
  • Fourth Wednesday: Sept. 28

October 2022 Payments

  • Second Wednesday: Oct. 12
  • Third Wednesday: Oct. 19
  • Fourth Wednesday: Oct. 26

November 2022 Payments

  • Second Wednesday: Nov. 9
  • Third Wednesday: Nov. 16
  • Fourth Wednesday: Nov. 23

December 2022 Payments

  • Second Wednesday: Dec. 14
  • Third Wednesday: Dec. 21
  • Fourth Wednesday: Dec. 28

Disabled Americans will also see their Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) rise by 5.9 percent.

The average monthly benefit for disabled workers will go up by $76 – from $1,282 to $1,358 a month.

Read our COLA live blog for the very latest news and updates…

A typical couple’s benefits will rise by $154 – from $2,599 to $2,753 per month.

If you don’t receive your payment on the expected date, the SSA says to allow three additional mailing days before contacting Social Security.

The increase is tied to the consumer price index increase as determined by the US Department of Labor Statistics.

Seniors born in the beginning of the month will receive their payments first


We pay for your stories!

Do you have a story for The US Sun team?
Email us at exclusive@the-sun.com or call 212 416 4552.

Like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/TheSunUS and follow us from our main Twitter account at @TheSunUS